The Political Bureau of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) Central Committee, more commonly known as the Politburo, is the Party's central decisionmaking body. Nominally, the members of the Politburo are elected by the wider Central Committee of the CCP (which currently consists of 205 members). In reality, the selection process is opaque. The 20th Central Committee Politburo, elected right after the 20th Party Congress at the First Plenum of the new Central Committee in October 2022, is comprised of 24 members, with Xi Jinping at its helm. The power of the Politburo is further centralized in the Standing Committee, a small group which currently has 7 members. However, a series of purges have reached the top echelon of the CCP over the last few years, notably in defense and foreign affairs. These offschedule personnel changes signal a break with precedent.

## Abbreviations:

**CCP:** Chinese Communist Party **CPPCC:** Chinese People's Political **Consultative Conference NPC:** National People's Congress

## Standing Committee (in rank order)



Born 1959

Born 1962

Born 1962

Born 1953

Appointed in 2017

Appointed in 2022

Born 1962

Born 1956

## FREEMAN CHAIR CSIS **IN CHINA STUDIES**



Executive Vice Premier, State Council



Li Xi 李希

Secretary, CCP Central Commission for Discipline Inspection

Born 1962





Li Hongzhong 李鸿忠 Vice Chairman #1, NPC Standing Committee

Born 1956



Zhang Guoging 张国清 Vice Premier #3, State Council



Li Shulei 李书磊 Director, CCP Central Propaganda Department; Secretary, **CCP** Secretariat Born 1964

Born 1950

Born 1964

Updated 06/26/2025