### The State Council of the People's Republic of China



**Vice President** 

The State Council is the chief administrative authority of the People's Republic of China. The State Council is one of three key elements of China's political structure, alongside the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) and the Central Military Commission (CMC). It oversees constituent ministries as well as provinciallevel governments, but not CCP committees. In recent years, party organs have gained significant power at the expense of government ministries. The President is China's head of state and represents the PRC in international engagements. The position itself is largely ceremonial but is an important part of Xi's political dominance, as the president formally has the power to appoint state leaders, to promulgate laws, to declare states of emergency, and to declare war. The State Council has an Executive that meets regularly to discuss major governmental issues, and is currently comprised of the Premier, four Vice Premiers, and three State Councilors. The premier is nominated by the president and approved by the National People's Congress (NPC). Other members of the State Council are nominated by the premier and approved by the NPC or its standing committee. Members of the State Council are elected for five-year terms and are capped at two terms, but the unexpected removal of two state councilors in 2023 departed sharply from this norm.

#### President

## Han Zheng



**CCP** General Secretary; CMC Chairman

b. 1953





b. 1954



#### **Premier**



Li Qiang 李强 Member, CCP Politburo **Standing Committee** Portfolio includes:

Coordination of the State Council

b. 1959

#### **Vice Premiers**



Ding Xuexiang 丁薛祥 Member, CCP Politburo Standing Committee

Portfolio includes: Education, Development & Reform, Science & Technology. Environment, Public Finance



He Lifeng 何立峰

Portfolio includes: Financial Regulation, Natural Resources, Commerce, Housing & Urban Development, Monetary Policy, Transport

b. 1955



Zhang Guoging 张国清

Portfolio includes: Market regulation, Industry & Information Technology, State-Owned Enterprises

b. 1964



Liu Guozhong 刘国中

Portfolio includes: Agriculture & Rural Affairs. Health, Water Resources b. 1962

# **State Councilors**



Wang Xiaohong 王小洪 Minister of Public Security; Secretary, CCP Secretariat

Portfolio includes: Public Security

b. 1957



Wu Zhenglong 吴政隆

Secretary General. State Council

Portfolio includes: State Council Counselor's Office. National Government Offices Administration, State Council General Office, State Council Research Office

b. 1964

b. 1962



Shen Yigin 谌贻琴

Portfolio includes: Civil Affairs, Veterans Affairs, Human Resources and Social Security, Sport

b. 1959

### **Ministers**



Wang Yi Minister of Foreign Affairs

**Huai Jinpeng** 

怀进鹏

Minister of

Education

**Dong Jun** Minister of National Defense



Director, National Development and

Reform Commission



Li Lecheng 李乐成 Minister of Industry and Information



Pan Yue 潘岳

Director, Nationa Ethnic Affairs Commission

Guan Zhi'ou 关志鸥

Minister of

Pan Gongsheng

Governor, People's Bank of China (with ministerial rank)



**Chen Yixin** 

Minister of State Security

Ni Hong



**Wang Wentao** 王文涛 Minister of



Commerce



Lan Fo'an 蓝佛安 Minister of Finance



Lu Zhiyuan 陆治原

Minister of Civil Affairs

Han Jun



He Rong Minister of Justice



Wang Xiaoping

Technology

Minister of Human Resources and Social Security



Natural Resources



**Huang Rungiu** Minister of Ecology and Environment

倪虹 Minister of Housing and Urban-Rural Development



刘伟 Minister of Transport



Minister of Water Resources



韩俊 Minister of Agriculture and Rural Affairs



Sun Yeli 孙业礼 Minister of Culture and Tourism



Lei Haichao 雷海潮 Director, National Health Commission



Pei Jiniia Minister of Veterans Affairs



Wang Xiangxi Minister of Emergency



Hou Kai

Auditor-general of the National Audit

